A List Of Reasons Why You Should Take Walks Outdoors

If you read my earlier post about my curiosity jar, then you know I like to take walks outdoors. As the weather begins to turn, I have to remind myself why it’s good to get out of the house, even if it’s cold and snowy.  Below are the reasons I like to walk outside no matter the season.

1. Fresh air. Winter brings the return of closed windows and the furnace. This is all well and good, as I like a toasty home as much as the next person. However, it also brings stale air and dust.

2. Exercise. I, like most red blooded Americans, have a hard time resisting the urge to take up residence on my couch, under a fleece blanket with a box of cookies and call it good until April. The hibernation instinct is strong when it gets dark at 5 PM.

3. Good conversation. I’ve had some of the best conversations of my life while walking.

4. Inspiration. For better or worse, I’m a writer. I like to write about the outdoors but not exclusively. I get ideas while walking (I had one today). It’s good for my brain.

5. Treasures. See the curiosity jar post.

6. Stay up with the neighborhood. You get to see whose raked their yard, who put up their Christmas lights way too early and just who the hell decided that “electric blue” was a good color to paint their house.

7. It’s quiet. This may seem odd to some people who know that I live in an urban environment. However, especially in the winter months, snow acts as a good muffler and I’m always struck by how quiet it is after a significant snowfall.

8. It’s scenic.

9. You meet your neighbors. They know you’re out and about. You chat about your gutters or pesky squirrels. It’s social, people.

10. It keeps you in the moment. If walking does anything for me, it’s that it gives me an opportunity to stop and just take in my surroundings for a half hour. Again, good for the brain.

Leave a Reply

